Thursday, November 13, 2008


Legion of Mary in Dipolog City started with only two Praesidia. Praesidium Dalangpanan sa mga Makasasala was organized on February 11,1962 and Praesidium Mystical Rose on May 1,1962 by the late Sis. Presentacion Pino. The two Praesidia were affiliated to the Senatus of Southern Philippines in Cebu City on November 4,1962 with Rev. Fr. Hector del Callar as the Spiritual Director.

When Dipolog became a Diocese in 1967 with the then Bishop Felix Sanchez Zafra,D.D. who was very supportive to the Apostolate of the Legion of Mary, more praesidia were organized. On June 8,1968 the group of Praesidia
(seven praesidia ) was Elevated to a Curia. Legionaries of Mary were very enthusiastic in thier Campaign for holiness and salvation, thus they were able to extend their Apostolate to nearby communities.

On May 16,1975 the Curia of Dipolog was Elevated into a Comitium wih three (3) Curiae - Dipolog Junior Curia, Roxas Curia, and Rizal Curia. The Legion of Mary continued to gain more members in the different municipalities of the Province of Zamboanga del Norte and in the City of Dapitan.On March 7,2004 the Curia of Dapitan was elevated to a Comitium taking care of the Curiae of St. Lawrence Martyr of Ilaya,Sta. Teresita of Polo, San Roque Kauswagan,and San Isidro Labrador Tuayan Banbanan. This was attended by Bro. Juanito " Nonoy " Lucine, Former Senatus President of Mindanao and Envoy to Papua New Guinea.

And on February 11.2006 same date when the Legion of Dipolog was Organized, the Curia of Liloy was elevated to a Comitium ,taking care of the Curiae of Immaculate Conception Barangay Comunal, Birhen sa Fatima Barangay Cabong Tampilisan, Our Lady of Mt. Carmnel Titay, Holy Family Ipil, Holy Rosary Labason, Mary Mother of the Church Poblacion Tampilisan, and Mary Mother of the Infant Jesus ,Godod.

And on April 5, 2009 the Curia of Olingan was raised to a Comitium level, with 7 Curiae attached to it thus are the Curiae of Sergio OsmeƱa, San Pedro, Cogon, Sinuyak,Katipunan, & Sinaman.

At present,the Dipolog Comitium is composed of Nine Curiae and ten directly attached praesidia, who are trying their best to spread and make known the goodness of the Lord through their substantial /apostolic works.

Dedicated to all Legionaries :
Bro. Benjie De Jesus Dael
email address:

No comments: